Collaborating in a scenario
You can share your scenarios with your peers (for example, with your leadership team or with an HR business or finance partner) so that everyone can collaborate, make edits, and provide feedback. You can also share your scenario with some integrated ChartHop apps (for example, for financial planning and analysis purposes outside of ChartHop). Learn more.
In order to collaborate with someone in a scenario, they must be current users in ChartHop.
Only scenario owners can share a scenario and edit scenario permissions.
When you share a scenario, only the people you share your scenario with can see the changes within the scenario. Your scenario and all changes within the scenario are not visible to the rest of your organization or put into effect until the scenario is merged to Primary. Learn more.
To share a scenario with someone:
- Open your scenario.
- You can share an in-progress scenario only when it has a review status of Open.
- In the scenario header, select your profile picture or select the + icon to open sharing permissions.
- Enter the name of the person you want to share your scenario with in the Add person field.
- Using the dropdown, configure the scenario permission for that person. Learn more.
- (Optional) Repeat the previous steps to add any additional scenario collaborators.
- Once you’re finished editing sharing permissions, select Done.
Once you’ve shared your scenario with someone, ChartHop sends them a notification that they now have access to your scenario. To later adjust their permissions or to completely remove their access, you can click on their profile picture in the scenario header.
Scenario views, including any new added columns, are not maintained when you share the scenario with others with access to the scenario. To share a specific scenario view, you must share the exact URL link.
As a scenario owner, you can assign the following permissions to the people you’re collaborating with:
Indicates this person has full access to the scenario; they can view, edit, and share everything in the scenario.
Indicates this person can view and edit everything in the scenario.
Indicates this person can view everything in the scenario, including compensation and cost summaries, but cannot make edits.
Indicates this person can only view and make edits in the scenario that affect jobs in their reporting line. They cannot view or edit scenario changes above them or outside their reporting line, regardless of their regular ChartHop access role. Limited editors cannot view the total cost summary.
Indicates this person can only view changes in the scenario that affect jobs in their reporting line. They cannot view scenario changes above them or outside their reporting line, regardless of their regular ChartHop access role. Limited viewers cannot view the total cost summary.
When you’re collaborating in a scenario, you have the ability to enter employee-specific comments on the change row or overall comments in the Comments section of the scenario.
As an owner, you receive a notification whenever someone comments in the Comments section of the scenario. You do not receive notifications when someone adds employee-specific comments. Individuals with access to the scenario can be tagged in all comments but they only receive a notification when they are tagged in the Comments section.
People with Limited Viewer permission to the scenario can only view comments; they can’t enter comments within a scenario.
There are two types of comments within a scenario:
- Employee-specific comments apply only to a specific employee or change row within the scenario Changes tab.
- Overall comments apply to the entire scenario and display at the bottom of the scenario. These comments also include the comments you enter when you submit, approve, reject, or withdraw a scenario.
To enter an employee-specific comment, select the Comment icon at the beginning of the row for the change. Multiple people can enter comments in the same row. Once comments are posted, the Comment icon displays in purple and indicates the number of entered comments. These comments display to everyone who has access to view the specific changes in the scenario.
To enter an overall comment, navigate to the Comments section at the bottom of the scenario page. These comments display to everyone who has access to view the scenario.