---
title: Deleting a scenario
slug: deleting-a-scenario
docTags: 
createdAt: 2023-04-03T23:42:29.000Z
---

As a scenario owner, you can permanently delete a scenario when you no longer need it or you can instead archive the scenario for later use.

:::hint{type="info"}
You can only archive scenarios that are currently In Progress.
:::

![Delete a scenario](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/CXAjUAezd9VEEVQBIYmdw/6yh3HpSq54dPZlRbaFN4Z_deletearchivescenario.png)

### Delete a scenario

You can permanently delete a scenario either from the Scenarios list or within the scenario itself.

Only scenario owners have the ability to delete their scenarios. You can delete all scenarios regardless of status (In Progress, Merged, or Archived). 

To delete a scenario from the Scenarios list:

1. From the left sidebar, select **Planning**.
2. Navigate to the scenario you want to delete.
   - Depending on the scenario status, it may be located on the **In Progress**, **Merged**, or **Archived** tabs.
3. Select the checkbox next to the scenario you want to delete.
4. In the menu that displays above the Scenarios list, select **Delete**. 
5. Enter **DELETE** to confirm you are deleting the correct scenario.
6. Select **Delete**.
   - Your scenario is permanently deleted.

To delete from within a scenario:

1. On the top right corner of your scenario, select the **Actions** ▼ dropdown.
   - When scenario approvals are required for your organization, select the **Submit for approval&#x20;**▼ button instead.
2. Select **Delete scenario**.
3. Enter **DELETE** to confirm you are deleting the correct scenario.
4. Select **Delete**.
   - Your scenario is permanently deleted.

### Archive a scenario

As a scenario owner, you can archive a scenario to remove it from the **In Progress** tab and save it for later use. You can only archive scenarios that are currently In Progress.

You can archive a scenario either from the Scenarios list or within the scenario itself.

To archive a scenario:

1. From the left sidebar, select **Planning**.
2. On the **In Progress** tab, select the checkbox next to the scenario you want to archive.
3. Select **Archive**.
   - This archives your scenario and displays it in the **Archived** tab of the **Scenarios** page.

To archive from within a scenario:

1. On the top right corner of your scenario, select the **Actions** ▼ dropdown.
   - When scenario approvals are required for your organization, select the **Submit for approval&#x20;**▼ button instead.
2. Select **Archive scenario**.
   - Your scenario is immediately archived.&#x20;
   - To access an archived scenario, navigate to the **Archived&#x20;**&#x74;ab of the **Scenarios** page.&#x20;

### Unarchive a scenario

You can restore an archived scenario back to In Progress at any time in the Scenarios list by selecting the checkbox for the archived scenario and selecting **Unarchive**. 

You can also unarchive a scenario by selecting **Unarchive** **scenario** from the **Actions** ▼ dropdown within the scenario itself.

:::hint{type="info"}
[Packages](https://www.charthop.com/pricing/)**:&#x20;**<font color="#a9a9a9">Basic</font> <font color="#000000">|</font> <font color="#000000">**Headcount Planning** | </font><font color="#000000">**Compensation Reviews** | </font><font color="#000000">**Performance** | </font><font color="#000000">**Engagement** </font>
:::

:::hint{type="info"}
[Roles:](https://docs.charthop.com/user-roles-and-permissions) Recruiting editor | Owner | Technical owner
:::

