ChartHop scenarios help you visualize potential changes to your organization so that you can project and analyze the costs and impact of those changes before putting them into effect.
When you create a scenario, you create a proposal in which you can collaborate with other stakeholders (such as leadership team members or HR business partners) for better transparency.
You can use scenarios to plan potential changes to the hiring plan, backfills, promotions, organizational structure, or all of the above.
Any changes you propose in a scenario (including new jobs, reorganization, and terminations) are contained within the scenario and only you as a scenario owner have access to those proposed changes. You can share a scenario with others and control the level of permissions they have to view and edit your scenario.
Your scenario and all changes within the scenario are not visible to the rest of your organization or put into effect until the scenario is merged to Primary. Learn more.
To access scenarios, select Scenarios from the left sidebar.
You can view an existing scenario or select New Scenario to create your own. The list displays only scenarios that you’ve created or that have been shared with you.
You can access different categories of scenarios using the following tabs:
- In progress - Displays all scenarios that are currently in the process of being edited (open), in review, or approved.
- Merged - Displays all scenarios that have been approved and merged to primary.
- Archived - Displays any scenarios that have been archived.
You can also filter the scenarios that display on any of these tabs by the following:
- Created by - Choose Anyone to view all scenarios you have access to, regardless of who created it, or choose Me to view only scenarios you’ve created. You can also select the name of another employee.
- Review status - Filter the scenarios that display based on review status. This option displays only when approvals are required for your organization.
- Keyword - Filter the scenarios that display by entering specific keywords.
Depending on your organization’s settings, you may be required to send your scenario for review and approval before any changes can be made official.
Once a scenario has been approved, scenario changes can be merged into your organization's primary Org Chart.
The status of your scenario lets you know where your scenario is in the review process (when approvals are enabled) and whether it has been merged.
Your scenarios can display with the following statuses:
Indicates the scenario is currently being edited.
Indicates the scenario is currently under review by one or more approvers. This status displays only when Approvals are enabled. Learn more.
Indicates the scenario has been approved but has not been merged to primary.
Indicates the scenario has been rejected by at least one approver and the collaborators of the scenario have not yet made any additional edits.