24min

Creating Data Sheet views

You can save your changes on the Data Sheet as custom views and return to them later or share them with others.

Saved views include your filters and displayed columns, as well as the date from the date slider. After saving a view, you can update it and share it with additional people. You can also delete it when you are finished using it. When you share a view, data permissions still apply.

Create a view

After you've customized the Data Sheet with the columns and dates you need, you can save a view and return to it later.

  1. Select Data Sheet from the left sidebar.

  2. Select the + at the top of the page to open the Views dropdown list.
  3. Select New View. Your new view is highlighted at the top of the page.
  4. Name your view.
  5. Customize the Data Sheet by editing the columns you want to display and using the filters.
  6. Hover over your view and select Save changes.

If you change the date in a new view, it is saved along with the other filters. For example, if you create a view that shows a certain set of people and columns as they appeared on June 20, 2022, that same date will be displayed the next time you access the view.

Edit a view

You can edit a view when you want to change the filters and columns it contains, as long as you have View Owner permissions for the view. If you created the view, you have these permissions by default. Otherwise, they must be assigned to you.

  1. Select Data Sheet from the left sidebar.
  2. Select the view to edit.
  3. Make changes to the view, such as changing the filters or adding columns.
  4. Hover over the view name at the top of the page and select Save changes from the dropdown list.

Share a view

You can share views with other people. Data sensitivity settings and permissions still apply to the fields in a shared view. Even when you share a view with someone, they may not have permission to view the contained data.

Sharing a Data Sheet view
Sharing a Data Sheet view
  1. Select Data Sheet from the left sidebar.
  2. Hover over the view name at the top of the page and select Share from the dropdown list.
  3. In the Share view dialog, search for people with whom to share your view.
  4. Choose a Permission for the people you are sharing with:
    1. View Owner - The people can edit the view.
    2. Limited View - The people cannot edit the view.
  5. Select Done.

Duplicate a view

If you want to further customize an existing view, you can make a copy of it, rename it, and make changes to the new view.

  1. Select Data Sheet from the left sidebar.
  2. Hover over the view name at the top of the page and select Duplicate from the dropdown list.
  3. Rename the newly copied view.
  4. Make changes to the view, such as changing the filters or adding columns.
  5. Hover over the the view name at the top of the page and select Save from the dropdown list.

Manage views

You can manage the views you have saved. You can see a list of all the views you've created and delete them when you no longer need them. You can also adjust their sharing permissions at any time.

  1. Select Data Sheet from the left sidebar.
  2. Select All views in the upper right corner of the Data Sheet.
  3. On the All views page, select Actions next to the view you want to manage.
  4. Choose Share or Delete to manage the view.