9min

Sensitive data

In addition to assigning access roles to individual users, you can also set sensitivity levels on certain data in ChartHop, regardless of that user's role. 

Assigning sensitivity levels to specific data ensures that data is shared only with the appropriate users (for example, 1:1 notes or planning scenarios are shared only with managers).

The following sensitivity levels are available within ChartHop:

Sensitivity Level

Description

Examples

Org Public

Visible to the entire organization (in other words, this is data that is considered public knowledge within a single organization).

Org chart and structure

Manager-Shared

Visible only to the following:

  • the specified person

  • anyone to whom they report
  • users with sensitive access

Compensation information

Manager-Only

Visible only to the following:

  • anyone to whom they report

  • users with sensitive access

Manager performance reviews

Personal

Visible only to the following:

  • the specified person

  • users with sensitive access

Birth Year

Highly Sensitive

Only visible to those with sensitive access.

Internal HR notes

Sensitivity levels for fields

ChartHop built-in fields automatically default to specific sensitivity levels. For data security purposes, you cannot adjust the sensitivity level for built-in fields. The following sensitivity levels apply to built-in fields:

  • Compensation: All forms of compensation are Manager-Shared.
  • Demographic information: Birth Year and Ethnicity are Personal.
  • Home AddressMobile PhoneHome Phone, and Home Email are Personal
  • Work EmailWork PhoneWork Fax are Org Public.
  • Departure Type is Manager-Shared.

You can adjust the sensitivity level for any custom fields within your ChartHop organization.

Hiding sensitive data

To view sensitive data within ChartHop, toggle the eye icon on the left sidebar to visible. You can view only sensitive data to which you have access, based on the defined sensitivity level.

When you toggle the eye icon to hidden (slash through eye icon), sensitive data does not display on screen. You can use this toggle to help protect sensitive data (for example, when sharing your screen with others).

Hide sensitive data with the sidebar toggle.
Hide sensitive data with the sidebar toggle.

Please consult our Privacy Policy for more information about how we protect your sensitive data and how it is used.